From the Labyrinths 1st movement

Full details...
page one of From the Labyrinths 1st movement

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

“Labyrinths” is the English title of a collection of short stories (for want of a better description) by Jorge Luis Borges, which have fascinated me since I first discovered them back in my student days. I happened to be re-reading some of the stories when I was working on this Violin Concerto, and I called it “From the Labyrinths” because I kept imagining that I could see parallels between the music I was writing and the stories I was reading.

There are, incidentally, long stretches of music that are not remotely connected with anything in Borges. This is not programme music, even though I have also stolen the titles of two of the stories for the two movements.

The concerto was originally written in 2009, and this first movement is not greatly changed from the first version. It now has a new ending, but otherwise I have just made a few minor tweaks and corrected several typos.

The second movement (which you can find at is completely new, and replaces the string of short movements that brought the original version to a close.

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
17 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of From the Labyrinths 1st movement

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...