Nicholas Garbett
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This composition is taken from my 20 minute electro-acoustic composition, ‘Welcome to my Gallery’. A minimalistic composition based on the artwork, Composition B No.II with Red by Piet Mondrian. I responded to the visual stimulus by producing my own tonally based composition. As a visual response I have used the very geometrical square like nature of the thick and thin black lines to produce a repetitive minimalist piece. I see the black lines as repeat lines, a point in which this composition itself could be seen as being an infinite loop. The score does not include any dynamic or articulation markings. The solid square red block featured in the top left corner of the artwork is representative in my composition with the simple 1 bar repetitive rhythmical pattern. Throughout the tonality changes to create variety, however it all stems from a simple rhythmical phrase which builds up in texture right from the beginning. Drawing influence from the artwork was important as I have taken this movement quite literally at face value, and believe that this composition can be seen as being my visual response.

page one of BlocksASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Nicholas Garbett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.