Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

(these notes appear on page 12)

mercury / notes

This is probably the longest single movement I have ever composed, and certainly the longest for solo piano. It was at a time when I was undertaking to grasp the classic European forms, such as (in this case) "Sonata" and "theme and variation." The piece indeed starts out with a rather typical Sonata exposition, moving into a series of variations on the two themes. The remainder of the piece could be considered "development."

The name "mercury" refers in particular to the transformational passage where one theme "morphs" into the other: in bar 168 the inverted theme I becomes a series of 1/8 notes at bar 190, which turn into theme II at bar 197. The title is also a reference to how the themes are constantly evolving throughout the piece, thinking of the ephemeral, "mercurial" nature of things.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by miles zarathustra. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to miles zarathustra has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.