Curtain Raiser

Katrina Gordon
Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
1 minute
Modern classical music
String orchestra

Written for young string orchestra, "Curtain Raiser" includes only notes within the grade 1 range.

Including pizzicato, tremolo and syncopated rhythms to add to the excitement, this piece captures the mood backstage just before the school show begins - everyone’s nervous and getting ready for the performance!

The 3rd violin part is provided in case your orchestra has no violas. The 2nd cello part is provided in case your orchestra has no double basses.

Thanks to the Scottish Schools Orchestral Trust String Orchestra who premiered this work last week - a fantastic performance! :) Just for you,

If you'd like to play it with your local string orchestra or string quartet then print off the parts now and enjoy it with your friends. Thanks for playing my piece so beautifully. KG

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Katrina Gordon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Katrina Gordon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.