Six Dance Episodes

Three of the Six Dance Episodes were written in 1976 and were performed by the Andresier Ensemble in the Wigmore Hall, London, in February 1977, after which the remaining three episodes were completed that same year. They are written for oboe, guitar and piano.

The six episodes are all brief pieces, in total lasting just 11 ½ minutes, and were originally inspired by hearing Japanese Gagaku music. Although not imitating the Japanese style, they all develop short simple ideas and some suggest an eastern form of expression. The exception is the 4th episode, an Intermezzo, which is a medieval dance where the oboe plays a treble recorder and the piano a medieval drum.

Other episodes have evocative titles: Dance of Life (number 1), Dance of the Elements (number 3) which features the oboe, Dance of the Universe (number 5) which features the piano and Dance to the Mystical Powers (number 6). The fourth episode (Intermezzo), as well as using the different instruments to evoke a medieval dance, also features the guitar. The second episode is entitled simply Lament.

It is possible for all six episodes to be choreographed, (the original three, numbers 1, 2 and 6, have already been danced by an amateur ballet company) but the whole piece serves well in concert form.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.