Six Little Piano Pieces

page one of Six Little Piano Pieces

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Six Little Piano Pieces were composed in 1998, beginning life as a pedagogic aid for some A-level students but evolving eventually into this suite of miniatures.

The first piece, Poco lento e sonore explores a fragmentary melodic idea set against a colouristic background. The second piece briefly alternates a Presto energico idea with Grave static chords before drawing the two elements together. The third piece, Poco scherzoso con moto begins to reassert the importance of individual pitches, leading to a statement of a short, introspective melody (Poco meno mosso) before a brief reprise of the opening material. The fourth piece, Largamente is set in a static landscape inhabited only by germs of ideas, melodic impulses but no lines. In the fifth piece, Molto legato, the melodic impetus re-emerges as a single-line, punctuated by a colouristic passage. The final piece is a Prestissimo Perpetuum mobile that settles into a sea of slowly changing harmonies, exploring the challenge of composing a piece without melodic and melodic/rhythmic small-scale structures.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Six Little Piano Pieces

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...