Home > Voice + guitar > Ode à Cassandre (A. Jacques / Ronsard) bilingual

Ode à Cassandre (A. Jacques / Ronsard) bilingual

Year of composition
Angel P.Y. Wong
Pierre de Ronsard (1524-1585)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Voice + guitar
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Ode à Cassandre (G. Costeley / P. de Ronsard), Mignonne allons voir si la rose (Anon. / Ronsard), Mignonne (Edmond Michotte / Ronsard), Mignonne (Giulio Alary / Ronsard), Mignonne (Max Arham / Ronsard), Ode à Cassandre (Trubert / Ronsard), Ode à Cassandre (C. Chaminade / Ronsard) bilingual, Ode à Cassandre (G. Costeley / P. de Ronsard), Une Allée Du Luxembourg (A. Jacques / G. de Nerval), Happiness is in the field (A. Jacques / Paul Fort), Combien j’ai douce souvenance (C. Franck / Chateaubriand), Le ciel est par-dessus le toit (Delius / Verlaine), S’il est un charmant gazon (Liszt / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo), Ode à Cassandre (A. Jacques / Ronsard) - original version, L’aube naît (Widor / Victor Hugo), Ode à Cassandre (R. Wagner / Ronsard), Mignonne, allons voir si la rose (Anon. harmon. E. Moullé / Ronsard), Ici-bas (A. Jacques / Sully-Prudhomme), Ode à Cassandre (E. Guiraud / Ronsard), Sérénade (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo), Il pleure dans mon coeur (Delius / Verlaine), Ode à Cassandre (A. Jacques / Ronsard) bilingual, Mignonne, allons voir si la rose (Herlevin - Ronsard), Mignonne (Eugène Sauzay / Ronsard), Mignonne (Anon. / Ronsard) , Mignonne (Victor Massé / Ronsard)), Ode à Cassandre (Marcel Delrue / Ronsard), Mignonne, allons voir (Emanuel Moór / Ronsard), A Cassandre (Théodore Gouvy / Ronsard), A Cassandre (Edouard Pascal / Ronsard), Mignonne (A. Dethou / Ronsard) and Mignonne, allons voir si la rose (Martial Caillebotte / Ronsard)

Literal translation (AJ):

1._Darling, let’s go and see if the rose That had opened this morning Its robe of crimson in the sun, Has kept this evening The folds of its purple robe And its complexion to yours alike.

2._Alas! see how in such a short space, Darling, it has over the place Alas! alas! its charms dropped! O truly cruel mother nature! Because such a flower only lasts From the morn to the eve!

3._Thus, if you trust me, darling, While your age still blooms In its greenest novelty, Gather, gather your youth: Like to this flower, old age Will tarnish your beauty.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.