Home > Classical music > Sonata in C Minor for Two Violins and String Quartet

Sonata in C Minor for Two Violins and String Quartet

Antonio Veracini
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Classical music

Antonio Veracini did some beautiful things with the idea of tension-and-release. Along with Quantz and a couple of other early-Baroque composers, he interpreted the idea as dissonance-and-resolve to very nice effect. The idea of my arrangement is to provide a middle ground: you?d like a bit more for your recital than just a piano accompaniment, but you can?t swing an entire string orchestra. How about two solo violins helped out by a string quartet? I think it works nicely.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Virgil Barstad. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Virgil Barstad has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.