Concerto for Oboe and Strings - ’Epitaphium’

Full details...
page one of Concerto for Oboe and Strings - ’Epitaphium’

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Concerto for Oboe and Strings - ’Epitaphium’ was originally written in 1980 to 1981 during a tragic period in the composer’s life. His wife, Simona, died on 8 May 1980, leaving the composer with a son, Nicholas, so this piece is dedicated to Simona and is inscribed with the words ‘In Loving Memory of Simona’. It was revised in 2012.

The concerto is in two movements, played without a break and lasts just over 16 minutes. The first movement is called ‘Elegy’ and alternates a slow meditation with a faster ‘agitated’ section. The strings alone begin with the slow meditation and the oboe follows with the faster music, as a solo cadenza. The second movement is called ‘Wild Dance’ and is a fast dance-like movement with a cadenza for the oboe in the middle. The work ends with a development and return of the first movement.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
17 minutes
Orchestra + solo Oboe
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto for Oboe and Strings - ’Epitaphium’

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...