In Memoriam: George Gershwin (26 September, 1898 - 11 July, 1937) - (Opus 11) Written, in 2012, to Commemorate the Seventy-fifth Anniversary of the Death of a truly great Composer and Pianist

Vic Carnall
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Jazz music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Written by Vic Carnall, in 2012, in order to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the death of George Gershwin (1898-1937), this piece for solo piano should be played in accordance with Gershwin’s own directions at the head of his "Jasbo Brown Blues" (from the jazz opera, "Porgy and Bess"/1935) - that is to say, "In Jazz Manner" - and, also, should be interpreted in the style of the opening of the first of his three "Preludes for Piano"(1926/1927)…marked "con licenza". / To be noted: (1) the work is precisely 75 bars/measures in length, and should take about 7.5 minutes to perform, if the metronome speeds and other instructions are closely observed; (2) an unspecified number of Gershwin’s own compositions are referred to/alluded to/quoted, within the body of this piece, and, in addition, Vic Carnall has included two original musical enigmas/ciphers within the work…are YOU able to detect/name/solve them?

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Vic Carnall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Vic Carnall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.