Home > Voice + keyboard > L’aube naît (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo)

L’aube naît (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo)

Darling arise!

Music by Frédéric D’Erlanger (1868-1943)
Year of composition
Victor Hugo (1802-1885)
Easy (Grades 1-3)
1 minute
Classical music
Voice + keyboard
Instrumental parts
Related scores
L’aube naît (L'aubade -O ma charmante)(J-B Faure /Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (B. Godard / Victor Hugo), L’aube Naît (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo), La ballade de la revenante (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo), Je ne songeais pas à Rose (E. Pessard / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (Lalo / Victor Hugo), Je ne songeais pas à Rose (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo)), S’il est un charmant gazon (D’Erlanger / Victor Hugo), Le ciel est par-dessus le toit (Delius / Verlaine), L’aube naît (P. Tosti / Victor Hugo), Il pleure dans mon coeur (Delius / Verlaine), S’il est un charmant gazon (Liszt / Victor Hugo), Combien j’ai douce souvenance (C. Franck / Chateaubriand), Au bord de l’eau (G. Fauré / Sully-Prudhomme), Chanson de Barberine (Delibes / A. de Musset), Les Heures Envolées (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo), Si vous n’avez rien à me dire (Saint-Saëns / Hugo)), Que l’heure est donc brève (Delibes / A. Silvestre), L’aube naît (Gounod / Victor Hugo), Que l’heure est donc brève (Massenet / A. Silvestre), Le ciel est par-dessus le toit (Prison) (G. Fauré / P. Verlaine), L’aube naît (Widor / Victor Hugo), S’il est un charmant gazon (Fauré - Victor Hugo), Il pleure dans mon coeur (Spleen) (G. Fauré / P. Verlaine), Ici-bas (G. Fauré / Sully-Prudhomme), Nuit d’étoiles (Debussy / Banville), Ave Maria (Gounod & Bach), Ave Maria (Schubert), Il pleure dans mon coeur (C. Debussy / P. Verlaine), O ma charmante (L. Lacombe / Victor Hugo)), Puisque Mai tout en fleurs (Gabriel Fauré / Victor Hugo), Sérénade (Charles Gounod / Victor Hugo), Ode à Cassandre (A. Jacques / Ronsard) bilingual, Sérénade (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo) - bilingual, L’aube naît (Sérénade)(Albert Petit / Victor Hugo), Ta porte est close (L’aube naît)(Charles Lecocq - Victor Hugo), L'aube nait (André Gedalge / Victor Hugo), Oh! ma charmante (Sweet dreamer)(Arthur Sullivan / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (Weckerlin / Victor Hugo), O ma charmante (C. Guglielmi / Victor Hugo), O ma charmante (E. de Richard d'Aboncourt / Victor Hugo), Sérénade (A. Dethou / Victor Hugo)), L’aube naît (Henry Altès / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît (Anton Simon / Victor Hugo), L’aube naît et ta porte est close (Zoubaloff - Victor Hugo), Chanson (Halfdan Kjerulf / Victor Hugo), Aubade (Léon Kreutzer / Victor Hugo) and Aubade (Max Arham / Victor Hugo)

This poem by Victor Hugo, dated 1835, has also been set in music by Charles Gounod, Edouard Lalo, Charles-Marie Widor and me, Alain Jacques. Here D’Erlanger selected only the first two stanzas and dropping the third (Widor selected the 1st and 3rd; Alain Jacques retained the three of them). Translation of the 3 stanzas (AJ):

1. Dawn is breaking, and your door is closed, My darling why slumber? At the hour when the rose wakes up Are you not going to awaken?

Chorus: Oh my charming one Listen here To the lover who sings And also cries!

2. Everything knocks at your blessed door, Dawn says: "I am the day", The bird says: "I am harmony", And my heart says: "I am love!"

3. I adore you as an angel and love you as a woman. God, who by you, has completed me, Has made my love for your soul, And my eyes for your beauty!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.