PASSACAGLIA on the theme by J. S. Bach for violoncello and string orchestra

Full details...
page one of PASSACAGLIA on the theme by J. S. Bach for violoncello and string orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Introductory quotation of Bach’s theme is followed by 12 variations with interludes which gradually pass all keys in a circle of fifths. Systematic alternation of two styles poses a pointed confrontation with history, as if we are looking back on our way, searching for certainty in contemporary chaos and decay of cultural values. It may be Bach’s work where we can find a message about the meaning of a common scheme of things and also about the sense of restrictions we can impose on ourselves to fill or even exceed of our own free will our delimited space. - Po citaci tématu následuje dvanáct variací s mezivětami, které postupně procházejí všemi tóninami ve sledu kvintového kruhu. Systematické střídání dvou stylových rovin tu představuje cílenou konfrontaci s historií. Jako bychom se na své cestě ohlíželi zpět a hledali jistotu tam, kde ji lze bezpečně nalézt. Pro dnešní dobu chaosu a rozpadu hodnot může být právě Bachovo dílo vzkazem o významu obecného řádu věcí i o smyslu omezení, která ve svém konání můžeme ukládat sami sobě, abychom vymezený prostor podle vlastní vůle naplňovali i překračovali. Videorecording of premiere:

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
16 minutes
Orchestra + solo Solo Violoncello
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for PASSACAGLIA on the theme by J. S. Bach for violoncello and string orchestra

Reviews of PASSACAGLIA on the theme by J. S. Bach for violoncello and string orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...