Full details...
page one of RainDance

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Composed during 2002, RainDance was my Extension Music Major Work. The piece consists of two movements, separate, but also tied together in many ways!

RainDance Part I - The Dance This movement is for 8-Piece Percussion Ensemble. A group of people start dancing a Rain Dance to bring in the rain. After some time, a rumble of thunder is heard in the distance! Hearing this, the dancers start to dance even more energetically, getting faster and faster, the music rising in pitch, until a final massive thunderclap sends them scurrying for their homes!

The first movement combines several different elements - the instrumentation was inspired by African and Aboriginal traditional instrumentation, but has some Western influences. The piece itself is a Waltz, influenced by the classic Viennese waltzes. The form is a traditional Ternary, with an Extended Intro-A-B-A1-Coda.

RainDance part II - The Storm This movement is for the combined Percussion Ensemble and Orchestra. The dancers have run home in fright, and Nature is about to let all hell break loose. Slowly, it starts to rain, with the occasional loud thunderbolt, frightening everyone. There is a moment of calm before the weather suddenly whips up in a display of nature's fury. Nature taunts the dancers, singing a discordant version of their own dance! The storm builds up again, getting more violent by the minute. The dancers decide to try to slow its progress, and come out to try and force the storm into submission - their dance tune is screamed out, but the low growl of the wind knocks them back. Unfortunately, this conflict only makes the storm go stronger, and it grows and grows in intensity. The storm, however, has one last bang in it before it starts to die away. Nature relents to the dancers, and their dance tune is heard hauntingly on the last dying gasps of wind left in the storm…

The second movement had many influences in it. The start of the movement is strongly influenced by the music of Sculthorpe, and features lots of different techniques on all the instruments to create an eerie sound for the coming storm. The percussion instrumentation also has a variety of sources - the thunder sheet came from various readings, and the SFX Sampler was an idea from the previous year's HSC compositions. The body of the work itself is in modified Fugue form, with an initial exposition, episode, modified exposition and episode in a non-related key, a bridging passage that comes basically out of nowhere, development, the "Battle" scene, and then full-orchestra recapitulation before dying away in a coda.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of RainDance

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...