As Peter Spaketh was written at the request of a fellow SibMusic composer seeking new pieces for his vocal trio. It is scored here for 1st tenor, 2nd tenor or baritone, & bass voices. It may also be performed by a small men’s ensemble. After many iterations this a cappella work has finally found it’s home in the original version, ending the numerous re-writes that have taken place through the years after the intended ensemble disbanded. Here it is once again slightly updated to allow a better flow of the text. If your have a choir with better than average men singers this can work for you, too, while the ladies take a breather.

Premier performance in Keyport, NJ on September 27, 2015 at Calvary United Methodist Church.

NOTE: the printed score and the audio file now are the same.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joseph Virgilio. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Joseph Virgilio has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.