for Orchestra

Full details...
page one of Origins

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Origins musically represents three important recent scientific explorations of space and matter that are designed to give humans a better understanding of the origins of the universe and the origins of life. The first movement, Black Holes and Cyclotrons, represents the quest to understand and reproduce the relationship between gravitation and energy that scientists believe caused the big bang and our ever-expanding universe. The music of this movement represents the danger inherent in these explorations into the unknown. There are sections of the movement that are lighter in nature that depict subatomic particles dancing around in a particle accelerator. The end of the movement increases in tempo reflecting the ever-increasing speeds of particle accelerators and the gravitational pull of black holes. The Surface of Mars is the title of the second movement that depicts NASA’s Mars Exploration Rover Mission. The rovers Spirit and Opportunity have explored the surface of Mars and have revealed the surface as being mostly a barren landscape void of life. The outer sections of this movement reflect this discovery. The middle section of the movement represents the excitement of one of the rovers finding indications of water having existed on Mars and therefore the possibility that life may have also existed. The third movement, Window Into Deep Space, is a tribute to the Hubble Space Telescope. This movement has many uplifting sections as the Hubble Space Telescope has provided views of the universe never before seen from Earth. It also has sections of anxiety as this mission was wrought with several failures that nearly derailed it. The promise of increased understanding of our universe is reflected in the ending of this composition.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Origins

Reviews of Origins

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...