Frensham Variations

Full details...
page one of Frensham Variations

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Dedicated to the piano pupils of Frensham Heights School, who gave the first performance in 1967, the variations are designed to be played with little or no break between each one. Performers may sit on stage in a semi-circle behind the pianos in order to be prepared for a quick 'take over'. Variation 12 (added later) gives an opportunity for a pair of 'non-piano players' to take part, but may also be taken by those who played the theme. Most of the school place names are self-explanatory but here are the ones that may be unfamiliar: - Scrunch Corner - The area where baked bread was distributed at morning break. Nevill Hall - Dance, drama, PE, and orchestral performances took place here. Isolation - The sickbay. The Cellars - The venue for the school jazz club. The Drawing Room - Where musical appreciation classes were often held, in a degree of comfort that could give rise to the occasional daydream! The Ballroom - The school assembly hall, a venue for concerts, discos and endless school notices�

Score ID
Year of composition
Not applicable (e.g. worksheet)
21 minutes
Duet of Pianos
Modern classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Frensham Variations

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...