for piano

Robert Percy (2010)
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Programme Note - The piece opens, hesitantly, as the famous children’s piano piece of the same name. After a swift digression, the piece begins to explore connections between a number of different musical ideas. These include a gentle, pulseless monody interspersed with ‘earthquake’ patterns (like the rhythm of bouncing ball, coming to rest); soft, periodic, major and minor triads which echo the opening Chopsticks tune; a tetchy dilogue between left and right hands; and a high, rapid interplay of two augmented triads. As far as pitch materials are concerned, the piece uses a six-note ‘mode of limited transpositions’ (reccurring minor third folllowed by minor second). The piece makes use of the fact that each transposition of the mode contains three pairs of major/minor triads and a pair of augmented triads. Throughout its course, the piece visitis each transposition of the mode and the corresponding triads. Interacting with the mode, in its different transpositions, are the five intervals which make up the original Chopsticks tune. The piece finishes with a chorale-like passage which combines the various triads with the intervals from Chopsticks.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Robert Percy. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Robert Percy has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.