Willkommen und Abschied

Year of composition
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) and Georg Trakl (1887-1914)
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music
Orchestra + solo (Tenor)

During his studies at Strasbourg, young Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832), then plagued by testosterone, rode at nightfall to Sesenheim to meet his beloved, Friederike Brion, the daughter of a minister. I tried to put into music the feelings expressed in words, as I imagined already when we commented and interpreted the poem in the German class with Dr. Hahn during the third year of Secondary School (from February to November 1962). As a second piece I include the poem "Decay" by Georg Trakl, also for tenor and the same kind of string quartet, which I wrote in 2011.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Drewes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Michael Drewes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.