AIR THERAPY-Treatment by Breth for wind and percussion

Aeroterapie-léčba dechem pro dechy a bicí

In 1977 Ivo Bláha (*1936) wrote his Sinfonia „Per archi“, where the symphony orchestra was reduced to just the string section. His latest orchestral composition, Air Therapy – Treatment by Breath for wind and percussion, is the very reverse of that: the strings are absent in the orchestra while the other instruments – woodwinds, brass and percussion – remain on the podium. Those works, separated by thirty years, do not differ only in their instrumentation but above all in spirit of the music. While in the earlier work the music is more abstract and revolves around specific color and magical sound of the strings, Air Therapy presents an altogether different kind of music. It is based on the wind instruments, whose sound is light, simple, with a distinctive charm in the lyrical, comic, mysterious and dramatic passages. The composer believes that wind instruments are able to stimulate and bring harmony to the human psyche, and thought them ideal for setting this composition apart from current trend for somber music that not infrequently recalls an arrow pointing downwards. Air Therapy is then an attempt to turn that arrow upwards, at least a little.

page one of AIR THERAPY-Treatment by Breth for wind and percussionASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Ivo Bláha. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.