Symphony #2 Mvt. II "In the Cathedral"

"In the Cathedral" (Bowings Included)

Paul John Stanbery 2011
Full details...
page one of Symphony #2 Mvt. II "In the Cathedral"

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Symphony #2 “Foundations”

Movement II “In The Cathedral” is a visit to the church the composer knew as a child, growing up in Toledo, Ohio. Rosary Cathedral is the seat of the Catholic Diocese of Toledo, and it was dedicated in 1925. It is the largest example of Spanish Plateresque architecture in the world. Frescoes of the saints and heaven fill the magnificent ceiling, culminating in the heavenly vision, with the Blessed Virgin dead center. The cathedral is also the home of one of the finest examples of E. M. Skinner’s organ genius, and the instrument is listed in the National Registry of Historic Instruments. The opening bars are given to a solemn series of chords in the brass, heavy and majestic. The listener imagines the sensation of trying to pull open the large heavy doors, and is then ushered inside. Upon entering the darkened space, one’s eyes are drawn to the ceiling where scenes from the lives of the saints and scripture are painted. The slight dissonances of the flute and oboe take our eyes upward, with an occasional “squint” (dissonance) to try and see what is there. This motive returns several times as we move more deeply within, with ever growing intensity. A pizzicato pattern throughout can be thought of as the tentative footsteps of the visitor, sometimes hesitant, sometimes pausing and waiting, hence the treatment in 5/8 time. As we move down the long aisle, we hear several chant themes: “Pange lingua, gloriosi”; “Gloria Patri et Filio”; Jesu Dulcis Memoria”, all commonly heard during various feasts of the year. Then, in some distant rehearsal room, we hear the choir intoning “Sancta Maria, Mater Dei”, from the Ave Maria by Vittoria. As we move further into the great space, as in all such churches, there are kneeling penitents (usually older ladies in veils) praying the rosary. As they do so, allowing the beads to “sizzle” against the pew in front of them. This is depicted in the tremolo sounds of the viola and cello sections. As the visitor moves down the aisle, the light from the ceiling intensifies and climaxes under that heavenly vision with the same “Sancta Maria” quotation heard earlier, but this time for full orchestra (imitating the great Skinner organ sound). There is a slight extension here before a grand pause. An “Idee Fixe” is heard, which appears in different form within the four movements of the symphony. We revisit “Gloria Patri” once again, slowly, and the work ushers us out with the solo flute over strings playing “Deo Gratias”, commonly heard at the conclusion of worship. With a final “Amen” and chime we conclude our visit.

Score ID
Paul John Stanbery 2011
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Symphony #2 Mvt. II "In the Cathedral"

Reviews of Symphony #2 Mvt. II "In the Cathedral"

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...