Meditation No. 1

Full details...
page one of Meditation No. 1

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Meditation No. 1 was originally written in 1975 and revised in 2013. It lasts around 10 minutes and is in one movement.

The work was inspired by some aspects of Olivier Messiaen’s organ music of the experimental period, such as Livre d’Orgue and Neuf Meditations sur le Mystére de la Sainte Trinité. In the case of my Meditation, unlike Messiaen, I use a non-symmetrical mode; although based on a whole-tone scale, I add a semitone to upset the symmetry. The work opens with a series of short motives which gradually expand, interspersed with a solo melody on reeds. This is terminated by a powerful chord which gradually decays.

A middle section develops a threefold counterpoint which continues for much of the piece. After the lower voices descend to the lowest registers, elements from the first section begin to appear in developed form. The work finishes with a chord building up to a powerful chord on full organ.

Later in 1984, I wrote a second meditation, this time for electronic keyboard and synthesiser.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals with pedals])
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Meditation No. 1

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...