O Little Town Of Bethlehem (2)

Lewis H. Render
Full details...
page one of O Little Town Of Bethlehem (2)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The text to O Little Town of Bethlehem is attributed to Phillips Brooks (1835 - 1893), an Episcopal priest from Philadelphia who also served as a bishop of the Diocese of Massachusetts, and a rector of Trinity Church in Boston. Brooks attended the Boston Latin School in his youth, and graduated from Harvard in 1855. He later studied for the ministry in the seminary at Alexandria, VA. Although he declined a position as Professor of Christian Ethics as Harvard, he remained a preacher there, gaining widespread support from students as well as the Episcopal church.

Brooks ventured to the Holy Land somewhere between 1964 and 1868, and the trip provided the inspiration for this now-legendary Christmas carol. While riding on horseback from Jerusalem to Bethlehem, he stopped at the Field of the Shepherds on Christmas Eve to attend a service at the Church of the Nativity. Three years later, with his trip "still singing in my soul," he delivered the five stanza poem to his church organist Lewis Redner, who supplied the melody. The carol was premiered on December 27, 1868, later appeared in the Episcopal hymnal in 1892, and is now enjoyed throughout the world.

This arrangement comes with an additional third violin part, and an optional bass part for use with string orchestra.

Score ID
Lewis H. Render
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
String quartet
Related scores
A Midsummer Night's Dream Op.61 - Scherzo, Chanson de Matin, Brook Green Suite - 3. Dance, Brandenburg Concerto No.5 - 3. Allegro, Die Fledermaus (The Bat) - Overture, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 7. Badinerie, Slavonic Dance, Op.72 No.2, Jingle Bells, Symphonie Fantastique - 2. Un Bal, Symphony No.25 - 4. Allegro, The Barber of Seville - Overture, Serenade No.10 "Gran Partita" - 1. Largo; Allegro molto, Siegfried Idyll, Serenade No.10 "Gran Partita" - 5. Romanze, Orchestral Suite No.3 - 2. Air, Brandenburg Concerto No.3 - 2. Adagio - Allegro, Brandenburg Concerto No.3 - 1. Allegro, Orchestral Suite No.3 - 5. Gigue, La Damnation de Faust - Rakoczy March, Serenade No.10 "Gran Partita" - 7. Rondo - Allegro molto, Swan Lake - Dance of the Cygnets, Brandenburg Concerto No.2 - 2. Andante, Symphony No.29 - 4. Allegro con spirito, Brandenburg Concerto No.6 - 1. Allegro, Rosamunde - Ballet Music No.2, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 6. Menuet, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 2. Rondeau, Pavane, Op.50, Symphony No.25 - 1. Allegro con brio, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 4. Bourree I and II, Christians, Awake!, The Nutcracker - Overture, The Magic Flute - March, Brandenburg Concerto No.5 - 1. Allegro, Birthday Minuet, Solomon - Act III, Sinfonia "Arrival of the Queen of Sheba", Serenade No.10 "Gran Partita" - 3. Adagio, Orchestral Suite No.3 - 3. Gavotte I and II, Serenade No.10 "Gran Partita" - 6. Theme and variations, O Christmas Tree, Brandenburg Concerto No.2 - 3. Allegro assai, Water Music Suite No.2 in D, Symphony No.40 - 1. Allegro molto, Water Music Suite No.1 in F, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 3. Sarabande, Orchestral Suite No.3 - 1. Overture, Brandenburg Concerto No.6 - 3. Allegro, We Wish You A Merry Christmas, The Sleeping Beauty - Waltz, Brandenburg Concerto No.5 - 2. Affettuoso, Symphony No.29 - 2. Andante, Symphony No.29 - 3. Menuetto, Symphony No.25 - 3. Menuetto, Symphony No.40 - 4. Allegro assai, The Marriage of Figaro - Overture, The Flight of the Bumble Bee, Once in Royal David's City, Serenade No.10 , Symphony No.29 - 1. Allegro moderato, Babes in Toyland - March of the Toys, Rosamunde - Ballet Music No.2, Silent Night, Serenade No.10 "Gran Partita" - 2. Menuetto; Trio 1; Trio 2, Symphony No.25 - 2. Andante, Orchestral Suite No.3 - 4. Bourree, William Tell - Overture, I Saw Three Ships, Symphony No.40 - 1. Allegro molto, A Midsummer Night's Dream Op.61 - Nocturne, Brandenburg Concerto No.6 - 2. Adagio ma non tanto, Slavonic Dance, Op.46 No.7, O come, O come, Emmanuel, Deck The Halls, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 1. Overture, Away In A Manger, Orchestral Suite No.2 - 5. Polonaise and Double, Solomon - Act III, Sinfonia "Arrival of the Queen of Sheba", Symphony No.40 - 2. Andante, The Merry Wives of Windsor - Overture, Water Music Suite No.3 in G, Carmen - Act 1: Prelude, Symphony No.40 - 3. Menuetto, Slavonic Dance, Op.46 No.8, Brandenburg Concerto No.2 - 1. Allegro, O Holy Night and 1812 Overture

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of O Little Town Of Bethlehem (2)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...