Debussy (arr. Lee): Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, Full Score

for chamber orchestra

Claude Debussy
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Instrumentation: 1. 1. 2. 1 - 2. 0. 0. 0 - 1 perc. 1 hrp - str

This arrangement of Debussy’s ground-breaking masterwork is a welcome addition to the repertoire for chamber orchestras everywhere. Emphasizing the work’s intimate character, it remains faithful to the original without any loss of Debussy’s use of instrumental colors. This arrangement is ideal for professional chamber orchestras, academic conducting programs, student conductor concerts, or whenever the full orchestral forces required for the original are not present. Can be per performed with approximately 23 to 29 players.

Performance material available for hire. Please email for all rental inquiries.

Note from the arranger:

My objective in arranging this work for chamber orchestra was to emphasize the work’s intimate character while remaining faithful as possible to the original. I carefully studied the original score and decided to use the same forces as my arrangement of Mahler’s Fourth Symphony without the trumpet. I am aware that Schoenberg made a chamber arrangement of this work long before mine but I have never heard his version therefore, my arrangement is simply an alternative version to Debussy’s masterwork and I hope that my arrangement will be a welcome addition to the chamber orchestra repertoire whenever the original orchestral forces are not present. -Yoon Jae Lee

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Yoon Jae Lee. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Yoon Jae Lee has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.