L’invitation au voyage (G. Pascal d’Aix / Baudelaire)

Invitation to travel overseas

Georges Pascal d’Aix (1862-19??)
Full details...
page one of L’invitation au voyage (G. Pascal d’Aix / Baudelaire)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Georges Pascal d’Aix (born 6 Nov 1862, but date of death unknown -posterior to 1934) was a French diplomat who, when young, went to the "Conservatoire de Paris" where he made friends with Claude Debussy and Paul Dukas. This setting of the famous poem by Charles Baudelaire, dated 1882, is from this period and is the only piece of music that is known from him, as his diplomatic career as a Consul Général de France took precedence. L’invitation au voyage (The invitation to travel overseas) was published by Charles Baudelaire in Les Fleurs du Mal (1857). It has also been set to music by Ernest Chabrier, Benjamin Godard, Henri Duparc and by Alain Jacques. Literal translation (AJ):

1.My child, my sister, Imagine the sweetness Of going there to live together, To love at leisure, To love and die In the land that looks like you; The wet suns Of those jumbled skies Have to my mind the charms So mysterious Of your treacherous eyes Shining through their tears.

There, all is order and beauty, Luxury, calm and sensuousness.

2.Some shining pieces of furniture Polished by the years, Would decorate our room; The rarest flowers Mixing their fragrances To the vague scents of amber, The rich ceilings, The deep mirrors, The splendor of the East, All would talk, there, To the soul in secret.

There, all is order and beauty, Luxury, calm and sensuousness.

3.See on the canals Those sleeping vessels Whose mood is to wander; It is to fulfill Your least desire That they come from the end of the world. The setting suns Dress the fields, The canals, the entire city, With hyacinth and gold; The world is falling asleep In a warm light.

There, all is order and beauty, Luxury, calm and sensuousness.

Score ID
Georges Pascal d’Aix (1862-19??)
Year of composition
Charles Baudelaire (1821-1867)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for L’invitation au voyage (G. Pascal d’Aix / Baudelaire)

Reviews of L’invitation au voyage (G. Pascal d’Aix / Baudelaire)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...