Si j’étais la feuille que roule (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo) - Original version

If I was the leaf rolled by...

Year of composition
Victor Hugo (1802-1885)
Easy (Grades 1-3)
2 minutes
Voice + guitar
Instrumental parts

An early poem by Victor Hugo entitled ’Voeu’ ("Wish"), 1828. Translation (AJ):

If I was the leaf rolled by The whirling wing of the wind, Or floating on running waters, And that we watch dreamingly;

I would give myself, still green, Breaking away from the branch, To the breeze which blows at dawn, To the brook coming from the west.

Further than the roaring river, Further than the vast forests, Further than the deep gorge, I would flee, I would run, I would go!

I would go to the daughter of the priest, The white-skin girl with black eyes, Who,during the day, sings at her window, And plays at her door in the evening.

At last, poor blown away leaf, I would, following my wishes, Land myself on her forehead, caught In the locks of her blond hair;

And there, on her leaning head, I would, even for a short moment, Be prouder than the white plume On the starry forehead of sultans!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.