page one of Pacemaker

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

See a live performance here!

Pacemaker is a fast and fun jazzy blues for big band, much in the style of Sammy Nestico & Count Basie. With a bit of practice it should be within the grasp of a decent amateur big band. Trumpet 1 has a few high-ish notes (Eb highest) but you don’t need to be Maynard Ferguson to hit them! Trombone 1, I’m told, is also quite high so you might want to check that with your principal ’bone.

Getting the ensemble rhythms and hits right will be crucial to making this piece sound good. Although the rhythm parts are generally to be improvised, the key rhythms are included in all the rhythm section parts.

I’m always happy to hear from people who are performing my music so do let me know if you’re playing this piece. Also I’d be happy to customise the score to your band’s needs - just get in touch at !

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Big band
Jazz music and Blues music
Instrumental parts
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Pacemaker

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...