Home > Voice + guitar > Prière (A. Jacques / Sully Prudhomme)

Prière (A. Jacques / Sully Prudhomme)

Ah! Si vous saviez

Year of composition
Sully Prudhomme (1839-1907)
Easy (Grades 1-3)
2 minutes
Classical music
Voice + guitar
Instrumental parts

Poem by Sully Prudhomme ("Prayer") publ. 1875. It has also been set to music by Charles Gounod. Translation (AJ): 1. Ah! if you knew how one’s cry When living alone without family, Sometimes, in front of my windows, You would pass.

2. If you knew what can birth In the sad soul a pure look, You would look at my window As if by chance.

3. If you knew what balm brings To the heart the presence of a heart, You would sit at my door Like a sister.

4. If you knew that I love you, Chiefly if you knew how much, You would even, may be, enter Just like that!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.