Home > Orchestra > Mahler (arr. Lee): Symphony No. 4 in G Major, Full Score

Mahler (arr. Lee): Symphony No. 4 in G Major, Full Score

arranged for chamber orchestra and Soprano

Gustav Mahler
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Achim von Arnim, Clemens Brentano
Difficult (Grades 7+)
56 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Instrumentation: 1d1. 1d1. 2d Eflat & bass cl. 1 - 2. 1. 0. 0 - 2 (3) perc. 1 hrp - str.

This arrangement of Mahler’s most intimate orchestral work can be performed by a chamber orchestra of approximately 26 to 34 players. The arrangement remains very faithful to Mahler’s original and is ideal for professional chamber orchestras, academic conducting programs, student conductor concerts, or whenever the full orchestral forces required for the original are not present.

Performance material available for hire. Please email ondinepress@gmail.com for all rental inquiries.

NOTE: Certain pages will not print properly due to technical reasons. Please email the publisher and a separate pdf with the corrections will be sent at no additional cost.

Note from the arranger:

My objective in arranging Mahler’s Fourth Symphony was to emphasize the work’s chamber-like aspects while remaining faithful as possible to the original. I carefully studied the original score and decided to use the same forces as Wagner’s Siegfried-Idyll with the addition of harp and percussion. I believe an ensemble of 26 to 34 players strikes a good balance between something that resembles a small ensemble and a full orchestra. I hope that this arrangement will enable performances of this work wherever the full forces of the original are not present so that musicians and audiences can experience this masterwork firsthand. -Yoon Jae Lee

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Yoon Jae Lee. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Yoon Jae Lee has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.