La ballade de la revenante (F. Thomé / Victor Hugo)

Qui donc êtes-vous la belle?

Francis Thomé (1850-1909)
Year of composition
Victor Hugo (1802-1885)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music
Voice + keyboard
Instrumental parts

Literal translation (AJ):

1._"So, who are you, beauty, What is your name?" _A maiden was in our country Her eyes were her jewels_ "I am the maiden, said she." _Pluck the branch of holly.

2._"You are all in white , beauty, What is your name?" _In tending the big auburn oxen Claude made sheep’s eyes at her_ "I am the beauty, said she." –-Pluck the branch of holly.

3._"You are carrying some flowers, beauty, What is your name?" _The winds and the hearts are mad A kiss made them wedded_ "I am the bride, said she." _Pluck the branch of holly.

4._You have cried, beauty, What is your name?" _She had a son, let’s all pray, God took him on his lap_ "I am the mother, said she." _Pluck the branch of holly.

5._"You are pale, beauty, What is your name?" _She runs away in the hollows, Sinister with the owls_ "I am the madwoman, said she." –-Pluck the branch of holly.

6._"You are so cold, beauty, What is your name?" _The loves and the gentle eyes Are, of our coffins, the nails_ "I am the dead one, said she." _Pluck the branch of holly.

page one of La ballade de la revenante (F. Thomé / Victor Hugo)ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.