PRB Piano Series: RAF March Past (Walford Davies)

Full details...
page one of PRB Piano Series: RAF March Past (Walford Davies)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

While searching Archive sites for another piece, I came across this well-known tune by British composer, Sir Henry Walford Davies, who held the title Master of the King’s Musick from 1934 until 1941 - quite coincidentally, he was born near the Welsh border in Oswestry, where my late Aunt Gladys’s family also hailed from.

In 1918 he was appointed the first director of music to the newly-created Royal Air Force, which led to him writing the march, RAF March Past, which is still regulalry played by many marching bands today.

The piano copy I sourced was, of course, an arrangement of the orchestral original, and where, to keep it simpler, the left hand accompaniment was often a simple oom-pah on successive quaver (eighth-note) beats - root, then 3rd and 5th as a chord. This is not an essentially pianist figuration, especially lower in the keyboard, so I have revised this, and made a number of slight improvements (hopefully!) along the way. There is, of course, a very Elgarian-English sound about the Cantabile trio.

The accompanying photo needs no introduction!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for PRB Piano Series: RAF March Past (Walford Davies)

Reviews of PRB Piano Series: RAF March Past (Walford Davies)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...