And I Said "Hey Ted, You’re Pixelated", for low wind and/or brass instruments

Full details...
page one of And I Said "Hey Ted, You’re Pixelated", for low wind and/or brass instruments

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The combination of instruments is determined by the performers. The following are suggestions for possible part allocations: 1 & 4 - alto saxophone, tenor horn, french horn, trombone 2 & 5 - tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, bassoon, euphonium, trombone 3 & 6 - tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, bassoon, bass trombone, tuba Instruments 1 - 3 may be slightly separated from instruments 4 - 6

Optional: other instruments play pulsed crotchets/quarter notes on Ab ad lib. If many instruments play this, then the performers may devise a way of moving the notes slowly amongst themselves.

Also optional: drum kit/percussion play rock/dance common time patterns throughout, cutting across the changing time signatures in the low wind/brass parts, but anticipating/emphasising the rehearsal letters with fills etc. If percussion is included the key clicks etc. in the other parts need not be played.

Where the repeated bars are marked X 4 etc. those bars are played four times etc.

Programme note: This piece has taken a short extract from a 19th Century piece and obscured the identity of it by elongating it, compressing the pitch range, chopping it into short phrases, looping certain patterns, adding instrumental taps and clicks, and then distributing the elements amongst the instruments - a musical equivalent of pixelation. The title reflects one of the recurring rhythms in the piece.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for And I Said "Hey Ted, You’re Pixelated", for low wind and/or brass instruments

You might also like...