Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus'

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores
The Spirit of God SATB, Stand up, friends!, Gloria (from the Missa Modalis), Blessed are those / Beati qui ad cenam, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) Version for SSAA Choir, Tintinnabula (Sonata), Themes on a Variation, The Spirit of God TTB, O sacrum convivium, Mary had a Baby, Litany of Saints, I Sing of a Maiden, I know that river which flows for ever (version with harp & cello), I know that river which flows for ever, Ascension Introit: Men of Galilee, Advent Psalms (Year B), Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (SS) & Organ, Litany of Saints for Ordinations, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (S) & Organ, Missa Modalis, Pater, sanctifica eos in veritate (TTB), Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) (TTBB), Capriol Suite arr. for 6 hands (Bransles), Fantasia: ’Pange lingua’, Never Weather-beaten Saile, Godhead here in hiding (Adoro te devote), Peter Mass (revised 2011), Chaconne Mass, Advent descant: Lo, he comes, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee (SAB version), Spiritus Domini super me SATB, Spiritus Domini super me TTB, Father, make them holy (TTB), Advent Entrance Antiphon: Christ our King is coming/Rex noster adveniet Christus, Advent Entrance Antiphon: The Lord is coming/Veniet Dominus, Advent Entrance Antiphon: A shoot will spring/Egredietur virga, Advent Alleluia, Tu es Petrus, Advent Entrance Antiphon: To you, my God/Ad te levavi, In paradisum (from Fauré Requiem), Alleluia (Gospel Acclamation), Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee! true Body (8 part version), Advent Psalms (Year A), Beata es, Virgo Maria (TTB) and Salve Regina

Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus'

This is a brief Toccata for organ founded on the plainchant hymn, 'Come Holy Ghost'. It is suitable as a festive voluntary at any time of the year but especially Pentecost (Whitsun). There is the option of double pedalling throughout should the organist wish. Registrations are suggested but may be adapted to suit individual instruments.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.