Renaissance Music for Brass: Four Galliardes for Brass Quartet

Pierre Phalese
David G Barton
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Classical music
Brass quartet

The horn and 2nd trumpet parts are identical. At several places the 2nd trumpet part falls in the extreme low range of the instrument. However, if a trumpet is desired for that part I suggest transposing the score up a step or more before printing. Otherwise, horn in F would work better. Likewise, tuba or euphonium could be used in place of the 2nd trombone.

The tempo marking of 130 is a suggestion only. The choreography of the galliarde involves the male dancer to leap in the air on the downbeat of each measure. The better the dancer, the higher the leap and tempos slow accordingly. Less athletic dancers want a faster tempo. Take your choice. If treble cleff trombone parts are required for British players, I will happily supply those upon email request.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David G. Barton. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David G. Barton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.