Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This was originally intended to be a duet for French horns – thus the strict 2-part construction. Due to the lack of anywhere for either player to rest, and the difficulties of trading off the interesting parts and keeping both lines in reasonable ranges, I eventually gave up on the horns, transposed the lower part down an octave, and – presto, change-o – it’s a piano piece. I wrote the first two sections in high school, inspired by Mr. Taylor’s music theory class. Then I got stuck. I’d work on it periodically over the years, but never found anything suitable for the trio. About a decade later, the idea for the third section came to me in a parking lot. Five years after that, I finally pounded out the fourth section. Whew! Sometimes these things take time.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Don Lawrence. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Don Lawrence has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.