Sonata for Trumpet and Piano

Full details...
page one of Sonata for Trumpet and Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Sonata for Trumpet and Piano is an abstract work combining modal jazz, impressionism, minimalism, and industrialism. I began with an ostinato and then expanded the central ideas. The first movement represents a distant, but pleasant memory coupled with a desire to relive the experience. There is a great deal of sadness in the fact that the past is forever intangible. Pedaling in the accompaniment prevents blurry harmonic changes, while the solo line avoids strong changes in contour whenever possible. The second movement awakens the dreamer to the harsh realities of the present. Complex, driving rhythms and sudden dynamic changes highlight the frantic pace heralded by automation and computers. The flurry of action is briefly interrupted by another wistful memory of the first movement complete with a cadenza of thoughts. However, the interlude is short lived as the furious tempo returns to show the unrelenting traffic of progress overrunning any who choose not to keep up.

A version containing only the trumpet part is also available.

Composer's note: This score as printed is correct, but due to Sibelius's handling of cross-staff notation, some notes will not playback correctly. The associated midi file, however, is correct.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Solo Trumpet in Bb + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sonata for Trumpet and Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...