Home > Woodwind trio > 5 Traditional Carols for Wind Trio (Fl, Ob, Cl)

5 Traditional Carols for Wind Trio (Fl, Ob, Cl)

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Woodwind trio
Instrumental parts

There is so much beautiful music for Christmas, how do you choose what to arrange? I have always been drawn to the older carols, especially those that are in minor keys, or minor sounding modes. I love the contrast of presented by music that deals with happy subjects through tonalities that we usually, if simplistically, associate with sadness or melancholy. So, here are five of my favorites, most, though not all, in those minor tonalities. “The Coventry Carol”, “Pat-a-pan”, “Lo, How the Rose E’re Bloometh”, “Sing We Now of Christmas”, and “O Cone, O Come, Immanuel”. This is the same group of Carols and basically the same arrangement as the version for oboe, clarinet, and bassoon, just re worked to fit the ranges of this grouping.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Robert Renshaw. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Robert Renshaw has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.