Odd Ball

Year of composition
Not applicable (e.g. worksheet)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Sextet (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Odd Ball is one of the scores accepted for the world premier of the Klavier Nonette Toy Piano Exhibition, created by Trimpin, a McArthur Fellow and local Seattle composer / inventor, that opened January 16, 2003 in Seattle, WA at the Jack Straw Foundation Studios. Scores were evaluated from worldwide submissions. Klavier Nonette is composed of 9 toy pianos made by Schoenhut and Jaymar during the 1950�s and 1960�s. Each piano is electrofitted with an electromechanical device that can be automatically played like a player piano, but can also be played manually. The pianos are arranged in three groups of three in a large gallery. Individual pieces are chosen from a Jukebox like device by the audience who are free to move about the gallery while the pieces are playing. Physical limitations of each piano required the peculiar notation you see in the score. The exhibit includes works by John Cage and Liberace as well as 38 other selected composers. The exhibit will be on display through April 27, 2003.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Ron Sonntag. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Ron Sonntag has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.