Theme, Six Variations & Coda


Theme, Six Variations & Coda for flute quartet, Op. 39

The piece is inspired by idea of evocation – the act of calling or summoning in Western mystery tradition, but also as the creation of New by bringing into the mind collective and individual memories and imagination. Melismatically coloured and based on the principles of imitation with pentatonic and modal elements, the theme evokes the sounds of the past – especially the medieval times, when the mysticism and alchemy flourished. The flute has from the mythical stories to the present days been a symbol of a „magical“ instrument. Throughout the piece, the evocation passes through six variation of different ideas and characters, while not losing the initial guideline. The circle is closing in Coda which instrospectively looks at the beginning and vanishes in triple pianissimo of the last chord. The composition is commissioned and dedicated to Zagreb Flute Ensemble who gave it’s premiere in Zagreb (Croatia) on November 24th 2013.

Post-premiere performances include:

  • Nov 26: City Hall, Novi Sad (Serbia)
  • Nov 27: Faculty of Music Arts, Belgrade (Serbia)
  • Nov 28: Faculty of Music, Skopje (Macedonia)
  • Nov 29: Centre of Culture, Bitola (Macedonia)
  • Nov 30: Concert Hall of the University of Macedonia, Thessaloniki (Greece)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Bruno Vlahek. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Bruno Vlahek has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.