Personent Hodie for String Orchestra/Quartet.

From Piae Cantiones of 1582 arranged by Martin Watson
Year of arrangement
Easy (Grades 1-3)
2 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Pavana, The Earle of Salisbury and Two Galliards by William Byrd for String Orchestra/Quartet., I Bought Me A Cat for String Orchestra/Quartet, Voulez Ouyr Les Cris de Paris for String Orchestra., Unto Us is Born a Son for String Orchestra/Quartet., This Train for String Orchestra/Quartet, Jenny Pluck Pears for String Orchestra/Quartet., Mademoiselle from Armentières for String Orchestra/Quartet, Air in F by G.F. Handel for String Orchestra/Quartet, Two Tom Tunes for String Orchestra/Quartet, The Girl I Left Behind Me for String Orchestra/Quartet, Abide With Me for String Orchestra/Quartet., Joy To The World for String Orchestra/Quartet., Personent Hodie for Orchestra, The Angel Gabriel and Angels From The Realms of Glory for String Orchestra/Quartet., Boar’s Head Carol and Gloucestershire Wassail for String Orchestra/Quartet., Three Christmas Carols for String Orchestra/Quartet., I Saw Three Ships for SATB, Piano and Strings., Masters In This Hall for String Orchestra/Quartet, Go, Tell It On The Mountain for String Orchestra/Quartet., Gaudete! for String Orchestra/Quartet, Laissez Paitre Vos Betes for String Orchestra., Good Swing Wencesjazz for String Orchestra/Quartet., I Saw Three Ships for String Orchestra/Quartet, Deck The Hall for String Orchestra, Three Christmas Carols for String Trio, The First Noel, The Holly And The Ivy, We Wish You A Merry Christmas for String Orchestra/Quartet., Laissez Paitre Vos Betes arranged for String Trio, Four Christmas Carols for String Orchestra/String Quartet, In Dulci Jubilo for String Quartet., Sussex Carol for String Quartet, Pavane: The Funerals by A. Holborne for Strings, Coventry Carol arranged for String Quartet., Pastime With Good Company for String Orchestra/StringQuartet, Mirie It Is, While Sumer Ilast for String Orchestra/Quartet, Six Galliards by John Dowland for String Orchestra, Delibes’ Flower Duet, Sous le dôme épais for String Orchestra/Quartet., Portsmouth for String Orchestra/Quartet, Adagio for String Orchestra, Early One Morning for String Orchestra/String Quartet, God Save The Queen for String Orchestra/Quartet, Carol of the Bells (Ukranian Bell Carol) for String Orchestra/String Quartet and Stil, stil een reys for String Orchestra/Quartet

Programme Notes: An arrangement by Martin Watson of the Christmas melody Personent Hodie (On This Day) for strings. The melody comes from the Scandinavian collection Piae Cantones of 1582, though it is believed that the melody is far older.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Watson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Martin Watson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.