Full details...
page one of Canons

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Canons is for string quartet and, although it was originally written in 1972, it was revised in 2013. It lasts around four minutes and is dedicated to Igor Stravinsky as a memorial at the time of his passing.

It was first performed in the original version on 30 September 1978 at the Friend’s Meeting House, Blackheath, UK, by Megan Cross and the composer (violins), Pamela Store (viola) and Dorothy Strutt (cello).

The first three bars state the main thematic idea, played by viola followed by 2nd violin. This is then expressed as a canon between 1st violin and viola, with an ostinato on 2nd violin and a rhythmic variation of the theme on the cello. Two developments of the theme are then presented in pairs and in canon, the first by the two violins and the second by viola and cello. This is followed by a section containing only rhythmic developments; towards the end of this, the 1st violin states the mode on which the main theme is based, followed by the viola in canon. At the climax of the work, this mode is expressed in various rhythms by all instruments, ending quietly on an E flat and a note-cluster. The coda presents the main theme, a short canon and ends in octaves.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Canons

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...