Home > Duet > Twenty Six Progressive Lessons

Twenty Six Progressive Lessons

Frederick Berr
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
12 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

These duets by Frederick Berr are a useful and interesting part of any clarinet lesson at virtually any standard. The suggested tempi can be ignored and the pace of each exercise made to suit a particular pupil. Whilst the first duets could be attempted by a pupil below grade 3 standard, there are exercises more suited to pupils at grade 5 standard or above.

These pieces are truly progressive and as such a good indicator of progress for pupil and teacher. The page layout has been designed so that if you print the the whole lot double sided you will use 8 pages of A4 and have no difficult page turns.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Mike Halliday. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mike Halliday has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.