Pomp & Circumstance March no. 1 arranged for 2 octaves of handbells

Edward Elgar arr. Katrina Gordon
Year of composition
Katrina Gordon
Year of arrangement
Easy (Grades 1-3)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is a two octave arrangement of Elgar’s Pomp and Circumstance March no.1 ("Land of Hope and Glory") which has been made for our two octave community bell team.

In our team, we ring off table: the ringer with D5 also takes the single C5 note, (with C#5 notated in the bass clef and paired with the B4) and the single C6 note might well be played by ringer who has E5 & F#5. Do whatever works for your team - but the C naturals are NOT optional!

Everyone in Britain knows how this famous tune goes because we hear it every year at the Last Night of the Proms! For the rest of the world, I’ve added a metronome mark.. this piece should be SLOW and DIGNIFIED. Think of Her Majesty the Queen… ;)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by caithnessmusic .com. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com caithnessmusic .com has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.