String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring": II. Scherzo

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
String quintet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Note: Parts available upon request.

Commentary by Left Brain and Right Brain. RB: "In January and February, an engineering project found me in Harrison, Arkansas, which helped me avoid an Illinois snowstorm or two. Harrison is in the beautiful Ozark Mountains south of that Midwest music mecca: Branson, Missouri. Most performers were on vacation though, so Branson was empty, and I missed the World's Largest Banjo. Anyway I doubt that banjos influenced the pizzicato sections of my Scherzo." LB: "The Ozark Mountains received their name from the early French explorers. A river with many bends was named 'La Rivi?re Aux Arcs', and 'Aux Arcs' became 'Ozarks' in English." RB: "Whateverrrr. The Scherzo isn't what it seems, or even seems to seem. The jaunty 6/8 Scherzo theme in F Major rolls in as a fugato/canon hybrid, followed by a closing episode. Or is it? A literal repeat begins, but that darn pseudo-closing episode barges into the counterpoint! The real closing episode is a fully-harmonized statement of the Scherzo theme. Pizzicato double-tone scales, based on the 3 main tonic notes of my String Quintet No. 1, then careen into the Trio." LB: "The Trio begins as a duet for viola and double bass, then literally a trio for viola, cello and double bass. The heartfelt melody is then repeated by the 2 violins, above a soaring duplet cello countermelody based on Theme I of the first movement. The Scherzo returns, but without repeats, and entirely pizzicato. This piece was completed in February 2003."

David Stybr: String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring" (complete) (29:10)
I. Allegro moderato (7:30) - A Major
II. Scherzo: Allegro (5:10) - F Major
III. Hymn and Tango (8:15) - D-Flat Major
IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco (8:00) - A Major / F-Sharp Minor

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Stybr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Stybr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.