The Gift (A Meditation on the Last Seven Words of Christ) (SSAATBB)

Year of composition
Jeffrey Jamison
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

THE GIFT is based on the idea that the passion, death and resurrection of Our Lord is the greatest gift that will ever be given to mankind. How can it otherwise be understood? How can it be expressed?

In this arrangement, the seven final utterances of Jesus on the cross become seven simple melodic lines repeated and woven together by seven voices/voice parts. Each section creates its own atmosphere for reflection and contemplation.

A string ensemble version of THE GIFT is also available. This choral version is shorter, omitting the introduction and one section of the canon.

Purchase includes permission to reprint a copy for each voice part. If you are interested in special pricing for a larger ensemble, please contact me.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jeffrey Jamison. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jeffrey Jamison has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.