BROOKS-DAVIES, Douglas: A Shropshire Pastoral for oboe d’amore and string orchestra

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Orchestra + solo (Oboe d'Amore)
Related scores
CHRISTMAS CAROLS FROM POLAND FOR STRING ENSEMBLE (SET 2), Christmas Carols from Poland for Wind Quintet, Christmas Carols from Poland for string ensemble, Pleyel: Sonatina in D for Wind Quintet, Schubert: Piano Impromptu in Ab (Op. 90, #4) for Wind Quintet, Brooks-Davies: Presto for string orchestra, Brooks-Davies: O Love Divine: An instrumental prelude (fl, ob, organ) , Diabelli: Piano Sonatina in G for Wind Quintet (II and III), Diabelli: Piano Sonatina in G for Wind Quintet (I), Parry, Joseph: Jesu, lover of my soul: An instrumental prelude (fl, ob. or fl 2, pf), Gibbons: Drop, drop, slow tears: An instrumental prelude (for fl, ob, guitar, keyboard), Brooks-Davies: Adagietto for String Orchestra, Schubert: Impromptu in Bb (Op. 142, no 3) for Wind Quintet, Brooks-Davies: A Shropshire Lad, Poem 36 (White in the moon the long road lies), Mozart, Piano Sonata in F (K.547a) for wind quintet, movt. 1 (Allegro), Mozart, Piano sonata in F (K.547a) for wind quintet, movt. 2 (Allegretto), Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 8, #48 for wind quartet (fl, ob, clt, bassoon), Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 1, #6 in G minor for oboe and piano, Christmas Carol Medley: Eleven European Carols for flutes, oboe and keyboard, Brooks-Davies: Night Piece for oboe and piano, Brooks-Davies: Lamb of God (SATB choir + piano; same as above + flute and oboe obbligati), Brooks-Davies: In Flanders fields (SATB choir + piano), Brooks-Davies: Lullay, Mine Lyking (SATB choir+ piano; same as preceding + flute + oboe obbligati), Creator of the Starry Height (Conditor alme): Instrumental prelude for flute, oboe, guitar and keyboard, Brooks-Davies: Tarantella (No 3 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Brooks-Davies: Idyll for oboe and piano, O come, O come, Emanuel (Veni Emanuel) version 2: fl., ob., pf., Sor, Fernando: Allegretto arr. for Wind Trio (fl., ob., bn) and Brooks-Davies: A Shropshire Pastorale for oboe and string orchestra

This is a revision with slight modifications of my Shropshire Pastorale for oboe and strings. It has its origins in a setting I wrote many years ago of Housman’s Shropshire Lad, poem 36, and it has finally struck me that the particular pastoral nature of the piece was really conceived all along with the voice of that beautiful, and sadly rare, instrument, the oboe d’amore in mind. It’s a gentle meditation, shot through with a Housman-like bitter-sweetness, very distantly redolent of Butterworth’s On the Banks of Green Willow, and very ’English’ in the traditional sense of the word. This, as I am now at the beginnings of old age, is the final and definitive version of a melody that came from nowhere as I gazed at Housman’s lyric, and has haunted me for over half a century.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.