Y Serch Lledrad

Full details...
page one of Y Serch Lledrad

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Words by the Welsh medieval poet Dafydd ap Gwilym. There are excellent (copyright) translations available. One of the composer's favourite pieces, it was commissioned for and first performed at the Welcoming Concert, Eisteddfod Cwm Rhymni, 1990. This is the vocal score, for piano and choir. The original setting uses solo oboe, harp and strings. As with practically every piece by the composer dating from the mid-1980s to mid-90s this work is littered with a special set of acrostics and musical puzzles - including many hidden in the instrumentation and orchestration; in that sense it is thematically, motivically and texturally closely related to the Etudes and Percussion Concerto which date from around the same time.

The (original) full score is still in the composer's possession: scored for choir, oboe, harp and strings, parts and score may be obtained on application.

This score is made available under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Whilst there is no restriction on copying and duplication of paper or electronic copies, performance/broadcasts must be logged with the PRS or equivalent body.

Copies may also be obtained from britishmusiccollection.org.uk

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Choir + keyboard
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Y Serch Lledrad

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...