Vegetables are taking over the kitchen.

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Duet (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

A piece written as part of my degree program. I shared a house with 3 other people, one of whom was a vegetarian. As the semester progressed the number of vegetables on our kitchen counter increased as the other members of the household switched to a vegetarian diet due to the twin onslaught of pressure from the Vegetarian plus the lack of funds to buy cuts of meat. The main theme represents the relentless barrage of brussel sprouts and carrots (with the addition of some cascading peas in the final section).

The unusual beaming in the last section in the top piano part is deliberate to highlight the phasing that is happening between the parts. Both pianists are playing identical phrases, but one of them keeps dropping the last 8th note. This requires intense concentration!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Johns. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Johns has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.