No. 1 Hochzeitmarsch aus der Musik zu Shakespeare’s Sommernachtstraum

Flex Mendelssohn
Adam Darr
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Trio (Classical Guitar [notation])

The Wedding March from Shakespeare’s Midsummer’s Night Dream is the first of 23 guitar trios that Darr assembled in a work that he entitled "Arrangements & Compositionen für drei Guitarren" Augsburg 1855. This is, in my opinion, some of Darr’s finest work, that I've found so far and some of the best compositions for guitar trio. The craftsmanship and originality is supurb. The instrumentation requires the use of the Bass Guitar and two Terz Guitars. The Bass or B-flat guitar is tuned a whole step lower than the standard tuning. The Terz or AKA the E-flat guitar is tuned a minor third higher or one can use a capo on the third fret.

The original is in the Bayerische StaatsBibliotek in Munich, Germany. I thank them and by kind permission that they have reproduced this work.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joseph R. Costello. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.