le jour des quarante-trois fois

Full details...
page one of le jour des quarante-trois fois

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

- Un jour, j?ai vu le soleil se coucher quarante-trois fois! Et un peu plus tard tu ajoutais: - Tu sais? quand on est tellement triste on aime les couchers de soleil? - Le jour des quarante-trois fois fois tu ?tais donc tellement triste? Mais le petit prince ne r?pondit pas.

Le Petit Prince Antoine de Saint-Exup?ry

Le Petit Prince is one of the most beautiful books in all of literature. Like the ?Alice? stories it can be read by grown ups or by young people. The interpretation depends on the age of the reader or the young person within. While looking for a title for this piece the above quote came to mind. It suits the mood. I do not intend to portray the dialogue nor the sunsets through music. The music is my response to the silence of le petit prince.

The work is for solo oboe. It is a set of continual variations. Each motif can be considered as a sunset. Each variation contains one or more motifs or fragments which are either repeated or developed slightly. Each is different like a sunset is different.

The ?Theme? sets out the four versions of the note row from the matrix. The first variation is somewhat rhapsodic, the second more spiky, like the thorns on a rose. The third variation attempts melismas, not one of which is able to grow. The fourth variation is a development of the first. It contains the climax of the piece. The fifth and final variation is the opening theme slightly varied.

Performance Note

The pause between each movement is written out. The performer is free to make each pause longer or shorter in performance.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Solo instrument (Oboe)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of le jour des quarante-trois fois

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...