Speak Your Mind, Compromise - Barter, Trust, for wind quintet

Full details...
page one of Speak Your Mind, Compromise - Barter, Trust, for wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I wanted to write a piece that took inspiration from the concept of the political process itself. The starting point was a quote from William Burke (1729-97): "All government, indeed every human benefit and enjoyment, every virtue, and every prudent act, is founded on compromise and barter." [Speech on Conciliation with America] This uncompromising quote did not in itself suggest to me all that was required, and so I tried to suggest the ideas of ’SpeakYour Mind’ and ’Trust’ in the other two sections. The music is presented as a combined score/part and I felt that in this context the idea of musicians playing within a single ’forum’ would have an extra resonance. The music is presented on two sides of a single page, and I deliberately preceded the third section ’Trust’ with the instruction ’turn over…’. In this way I hope to evoke the idea of ’turning over a new leaf’.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Speak Your Mind, Compromise - Barter, Trust, for wind quintet

Reviews of Speak Your Mind, Compromise - Barter, Trust, for wind quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...